The “Post” in Post-Workout

Go Big or Go Home!!  Work your butt off, sweat out the frustrations of the day (and any crap food you ate too! 😉 ) Then What?????

Many people don’t know what to do post-workout, or know what to do but think it irrelevant to the overall picture of health.

We have all been told that stretching is key to longevity, but so many people avoid it like the plague post-workout.  Some sighting “I don’t have time” or “it doesn’t do much for me anyway.”

Stretching allows the body to slowly cool down after a good workout.  It moves body fluids and begins the healing process; making recovery time more efficient and reducing soreness.  The nice thing about stretching is it goes with EVERY workout no matter what your “thing” is.

You can find some basic stretches on my YouTube channel.

Another thing that is often forgotten or blatantly ignored is post-workout nutrition.  The first thing you put in your body after a workout is what your body uses to heal itself.  Now, depending on your health and fitness goals are you putting the right things in your body once you have taken the time and effort of exercising?

One of my favorite things to get in is a shake or smoothie. I am a mom and I spend 90% of my day running around like the rest of the world, but a good shake can be the difference between working with my kids or joining in the tantrums at the end of the day! I get a quick amount of nutrient dense foods in that I don’t have time to sit there and eat.  The blender does the “chewing” for me!

My go-to shake is Vegan Chocolate Shakeology from Beachbody. Just a disclaimer, I am affiliated with Team Beachbody.  Anything purchased through this link I do earn a commission on.  I love the flavor, it curbs my sugar cravings and I’m full for a good 2-3 hours so I don’t get Hangry!  This  shake is also great because it is a powder mix so it truly is a lifesaver when I have seconds to whip something up. Scoop it into a shaker cup with 12 ounces of water and 12 ounces of almond milk, shake (as I run out the door!) and I’m good to go!

When I do have a little more time, or actually plan ahead, I also like to whip up the following recovery shake.  I have adapted this recipe from Power Vegan by Rea Frey.  I stick as close to this recipe as I can because I love all of the nutrition that I get, but I also use what I have in my home, I don’t stress about getting all of the ingredients exactly right.  Also adapt the quantities to your flavor profile.  I like a more tart/sour taste so I use more citrus.  So, feel free to play with this recipe at will.  The benefits of this recipe is the vegan ingredients.  You get a healthy dose of protein and nutrients that are essential to great recovery and in a vegan form which is easier for your body to digest and absorb.

Recovery Shake:

  • Juice of a small organic lemon
  • Juice of half an organic lime
  • 4 medjool dates, pitted*
  • 1 Tablespoon Raw Honey (Agave if vegan)
  • 1 Tbsp vegan protein powder,  Hemp and Rice are the smoothest
  • 1 Tbsp dulse flakes**
  • 1 Tsp Flax oil
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil

Combine all ingredients in a blender and serve!  You can add filtered water to thin the consistency and a handful of ice if your smoothie must be cold.

*If you pit and soak the dates in warm filtered water for about 10 minutes they will soften and blend more smoothly

**Dulse flakes are a red alge full of protein and nutrients, you can find it at a local health food store or order it online.  I also use nori strips if I have them.

 

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on May 24, 2016, in Clean Eating, Exercise, Health, Pre- Post-Workout, raw, recipes, Shakeology, Stretching, Stretching/Flexibility, Vegan/Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

