Hay Bale Garden Weeks 3 and 4

Full disclosure, I am struggling a little with this garden! πŸ˜–

It actually has less to do with the type of garden and more to do with the chaotic weather that happens here in Ohio.

My bales have been doing ok, but did not get to the high temperatures suggested in the book. I am under the impression that was user error though.  I do not think enough watering was going on.  I did amend my watering schedule and they began to break down better as week 3 went along, but still not enough heat.

By this time the seeds we had planted needed to be moved because the starter cells were just not big enough for all the root systems going on. My 5 year old and I moved most of the seedlings to pots inside so they could continue to get stronger. Most survived others did not (that is what all those extra seeds are for right?!πŸ˜‰) we also began setting the pots outside on sunny days to begin the hardening off process.

Coming into week 4/5 of this project I got a little hasty, and let’s be honest, impatient, to get these plants outside. Checking the weather constantly, I found a day that was going to be nice followed by other days that were supposed to be nice.  Got the seedlings that survived the first transplant and got them in the hay bale beds. The weather then turned and has not been above 54 degrees for a weekπŸ˜•πŸ˜£.  I’m hoping there is enough heat in the bales to keep the roots healthy. We shall see!πŸ’ͺ🌱

In the mean time we have started a new batch of seeds to replace anything that doesn’t make it from Planting 1.0.

I will say that so far my Golden Retreivers have been deterred by the hay! And plenty of bees and butterfly’s have begun visiting us too.πŸš«πŸ•

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on May 8, 2016, in Gardening, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

