Hay Bale Garden 2

So I told you I’m going to try a hale bale garden this year because we are renting our house and I can’t plant a garden and of course I like to be difficult!  Why plant in the pots you already have when you can try something new, right?!? πŸ˜‰ My husband loves it!

After going through The Idiots Guide to Hay Bale Gardening it takes about 2 weeks to prep the bales, which is about the same amount of time for most of my seedlings to come up.  And with a possible frost this weekend or early next week I decided to wait until we got back from our Spring Break trip to get started.  It is a simple prep though; 1 Cup of 10-10-10 all purpose fertilizer on completely saturated hay bales every other day for 2 weeks.  The first week seems pretty simple, at about day 8 though you have to start paying attention to the internal temperature of the bale, because it is basically decomposing in a controlled fashion.

I have enough space for cucumbers, tomatoes, green beans, lettuce, zucchini, bell peppers, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, carrots and just because the book said it should sustain corn, I got some of those seeds too!  Second Harvest also sent me a packet of carrot seeds to grow and donate!

I like the Burpee brand of seeds, I have never had any trouble with seeds growing and they are non-GMO and to my knowledge not affiliated with some big takeover seed companies that will remain nameless here!πŸ˜‰. I buy Organic as much as possible and use as much compost as possible to keep the veggies I grow at home as clean as possible.

  

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on March 25, 2016, in Food, Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

