A New Adventure…

This year is going to be an interesting year for me and my family.  We have always had some type of garden, mind you I’m an average gardener at best!  I started with pots, just to see if I could keep plants alive.  In some cases yes and others an astounding NO! I was smart enough not to photograph in the early days!! I would be very embarrassed! ☺️

I did move onto an actual in ground garden about 4 years ago.  The first year was absolute trial and error, mostly error πŸ˜‰ but I found what grew well, what we actually ate as a family and that my golden retrievers are the healthiest eating dogs ever and I had more trouble keeping them out of the garden then rabbits and birds!

As a rule in my husbands industry, once you get to a certain level, they expect more from you including travel and uprooting your family and moving them whenever it’s inconvenient!  And no, he’s not in the military!  So we are now renting, due to the unpredicatbility of the amount of time we are going to stay in a location.  So a garden didn’t happen last year.  I did grow a tomato plant in a pot, but it just wasnt the same.

As I have been researching I have come across an interesting idea, straw bale gardening.  I have heard of it before, but never really looked into it becasue I didn’t need to, well now I need to!

I love the library, it’s always my go-to, even before Google!  There’s just something about getting my hands on a actual book that gets me excited to learn something new!  And, I started where I always do, with an “Idiot’s guide” book.  I have found that if they make a book about it, plenty of people are searching for information on the subject.  And as the name implies it’s dumbed down so I can get through the basic concepts quickly and decide if I want to persue the topic further.

Today I got through the Idiot’s Guide… book and am truly intrigued!  The concepts appear simple in nature, the prep work is clearly laid out, and it looks like I will be able to get full garden satisfaction in a fraction of the space, and it should be easier to keep critters (and dogs! πŸ•) out!

I would love any insight that other, more seasoned gardeners could give, and I will keep posting my gardening shenanigans here!

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on January 30, 2016, in Food, Gardening, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

