What is your price of not changing?

Change can be hard, especially when you are going against a habit you have been forming for many years.  So the first thing you need to know is “What is the cost of changing or not changing?”

I have found that when I need to make a change it is because I have to, because the cost of not changing would be too great either to myself or my family.  It seems to come from a negative place, out of a mistake or oversight I made, or something I have put off or ignored long enough that it built up to a point that I can’t ignore it anymore.

It’s like hitting bottom and the emotional part of the brain does what is needed to move from pain to pleasure, so no matter how difficult the change is, you want to put the effort in to change.

So, what is your “bottom?”  What will make you start and keep you on track on your health journey?

For me it’s the ability to do things efficiently.  I am one of those people who get real crabby, real fast when things take too long or seem to be overly complicated.  I like to start and finish projects quickly, especially the ones I dislike most like; laundry and cleaning the bathroom (just being honest!). For some people food prep or exercise is that “thing” that makes them cringe.  I do not enjoy exercise, but I do enjoy how I feel when I’m done and once I’m started, it’s go time!  That might sound strange coming from someone who is a personal trainer and massage therapist, I love knowing how the body works and that knowledge is actually what helps me get off my butt and move it every day.

Not gonna lie, I have my day(s) where exercising is the last thing on my mind and to be perfectly honest, I do give my self a break, so should you!  Now, that is not a license to get lazy, try stretching lightly and getting your body warm, if you’re still not up for a full blown exercise, you still got in flexibility training and allowing your body to rest and heal from whatever’s got you dragging.

We’re at the end of January, already! So here are a few tips to get/keep you going on the days you don’t wanna!

1. Drink water!  Minimum of half your body weight in ounces, daily, on top of other beverages and produce.

2. Stretch, regularly; like every day!  I recommend first thing in the morning and/or right before you go to bed.

3. Eat at least 2 veggies at each meal including breakfast. 

4. Get a dose of good saturated fats like coconut oil and avocado. Great for feeling full and keeping skin looking healthy

5. Sleep! At least 7-8 hours each night and avoid electronics right before you go to bed, it jazz’s your brain up and makes it hard to sleep.
If you need more accountability, check out my Facebook page and find out when my next Be True to You!  Accountabilty group begins!

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on January 29, 2016, in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

