Dairy Free, Soy Free Ranch Dip

The one thing I have TRULY missed since going dairy free with my family is ranch dip.  I remember slathering everything in it, from veggies to mashed potatoes, fish to pork chops, wings, burgers!  And there really isn’t a replacement for the flavor it brings.

I spent A LOT of time looking into different recipes many of which called for soy based ingredients [no offense to tofu, but I can’t have it! πŸ˜‰ ]

So I took my favorite components and began to play around in my kitchen.  The first batch I made took FOREVER to make!  I was almost ready to just say forget it.  But my craving for ranch won out!  I tried again.  As I figured out what flavors I really liked and got the texture down, I began to get as simple with the process as possible.  I wanted to be able to make it at a moments notice.

Here’s the Result:

Ingredients:

4 cloves of garlic – minced very fine

Coarse Sea Salt

1 cup Mayonnaise (homemade is better, and for the love of all things DO NOT use Miracle Whip!)

Pepper

2 Tbsp White Vinegar

Put it Together:

1. On a cutting board place your minced garlic and sprinkle with about 1/4 tsp of salt (not gonna lie, I don’t usually measure!) then using the back side of a fork mash the garlic and salt together until it becomes paste-like.  This will take a few minutes, be patient!  The coarse sea salt is abrasive so it will break down the garlic nicely.

2. scrape the garlic paste into your mixing bowl, add the mayo and vinegar and stir until smooth.  I always do a taste test here to make sure the flavor balance is right before adding more flavors in.  If the garlic or vinegar is too strong add a little mayo and stir/taste/repeat, adding a little bit at a time.

3. Add another pinch of salt and 1/2 tsp pepper.  Again, mix taste and adjust.

This can be used right away or stored in the fridge for later.  This is one of those things that gets better with time, so if you can make it the day before, even better!  Remember, that raw garlic can be very potent and will add a kick, so if you are not a big garlic fan use less garlic to begin with and play with the recipe to fit your needs.

I also use Alton Brown’s Mayonaise Recipe, the flavor is so much better than store bought.

Now you could be done here, but there is Oh So Many Places You Could Go!! This is just the beginning!  Here are some additions you can make once you get your base recipe down.

  • Finely chopped chives
  • cayenne pepper
  • ground chipotle spice
  • tobasco sauce
  • thin it out with fresh, unsweetened almond milk to make a dressing
  • bacon (who doesn’t like bacon?!?)

Let me know what flavor combinations you come up with.

About Pure Energy Lifestyle

I am a Certified Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Wife, and Mother of two incredibly active children. I am promoting a healthy and active lifestyle for all people at any stage of health

Posted on May 6, 2015, in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

